State Authorization Regulations

What state authorization means for you

State Authorization refers to a regulation released in 2010 by the U.S. Department of Education (USDOE) which focuses on the requirement for institutions offering distance education to obtain approval from any state or territory in which distance education is offered.  Each state has its own regulations governing requirements for authorization. Institutions that are not compliant within the states in which they operate distance education (online and correspondence) may be subject to state sanctions. For more information on State Authorization regulations, please visit the Electronic Code of Federal Regulations.

State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA)

The State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement is an agreement among member states, districts and territories that establishes comparable national standards for interstate offering of postsecondary distance education courses and programs. It is intended to make it easier for students to take online courses offered by postsecondary institutions based in another state. SARA is overseen by a National Council, referred to as NC-SARA, and administered by four regional education compacts.  The State of Nebraska is a member of SARA under the direction of the Nebraska Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education.

Nebraska Methodist College has been approved as institution to offer distance courses through the compact agreement to member states.

States outside of the SARA agreement

For states not part of the SARA agreement, Nebraska Methodist College monitors developments in state laws for offering of distance education courses. NMC is currently authorized, licensed, exempt or not subject to approval in the following states:

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware (limited programs)
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky (limited programs)
  • Louisiana (limited programs)
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts (limited programs)
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota (limited programs)
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada (limited programs)
  • New Hampshire (limited programs)
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Carolina (limited programs)
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio (limited programs)
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington (limited programs)
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin

Students who have concerns about distance education through NMC and wish to file a comment should contact the compliance office of their respective state.

Updated November 2014