Kristin Mattson, PhD

Kristin Mattson
Kristin Mattson, PhD

Director, Center for Health Partnerships

Contact Information:

  • Phone: (402) 354-7030
  • Address
  • 720 N. 87th Street
  • Riley Leinart Center, Office 2012
  • Omaha, NE 68114
AB, Oberlin College
MA, Princeton University

PhD, Princeton University

General Background
Dr. Mattson has been at Nebraska Methodist College since 2004. With graduate training in Political Science, she currently teaches Capstone: The Educated Citizen. She has also served as the Founding Director of the Center for Health Partnerships since 2007. Key CfHP initiatives include the Mobile Diabetes Center, NMC Upward Bound and the Our Families' Health Promatora program.

Notable Publications/Presentations
"Advancing Evidence-Based Practice: Cultivating Reflection and Reasoning." Presentation with Dr. Mary Parsons at Nebraska Methodist Hospital, Omaha, NE, September 16, 2010 and September 24, 2010.

"Extending the Career Ladder: OHA and NMC Partnering to Improve Health." Poster presented with Dr. Marilyn Valerio at "Creating the Future We Want to Be: Transformation through Partnerships" sponsored by Community Campus Partnerships for Health, Portland, OR, May 12-15, 2010

Omaha Together One Community Health Care Committee with O'Brien, R., Mattson, K. and Valerio, M. (2009). Addressing rising drug costs through a grassroots approach. Omaha: Boys Town Press.

"NMC and OHA: Partnering for Better Health" Presented with Rachelle Tucker, Omaha Housing Authority at "Advancing Collaboration," Service-learning conference sponsored by Midwest Consortium for Service-Learning in Higher Education, South Dakota State University, Brookings, SD, September 25, 2008.

Ward, Blair, Henton, Jackson, Landolt & Mattson (2007). Service learning across an accelerated curriculum. Journal of Nursing Education, 46(9), 427-430.

Professional Service/Recognition/Charitable Boards
Jean Beyer Spirit Award 2011, peer award given for distinguished service to NMC community

Nathan Ashford Fund, Inc., co-founder and president, 2000-2010