Current Status: Campus CLOSED due to severe weather

Click Here To Go To NMC's COVID-19 Resource Page

Apply Now
Contact Us

Directory of Our Exceptional
Faculty and Staff

The faculty, staff and administrators are committed to making your educational experience smooth and productive.
1 2 3

Tara Whitmire

Associate Professor Director of BSN-DNP Program


BS-Psychology, Iowa State University
BSN, Creighton University
MS-FNP, Creighton University
DNP, University of Iowa

General Background

Tara is a Board Certified Family Nurse Practitioner and licensed as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse-Nurse Practitioner in Nebraska and Iowa. Tara has experience in critical care and adult cardiology. She is also a Certified Heart Failure Nurse through the American Association of Heart Failure Nurses. She works full time as a nurse practitioner/structural heart coordinator at a health system in Omaha, NE. 

Professional Service/Recognition/Charitable Work

Recipient of the Nebraska Action Coalition's 40 under 40 award in 2012. Tara's professional activities include serving as the Legislative Chair for Nebraska Nurse Practitioners from 2013-2015; Membership committee member for the American Association of Heart Failure Nurses since 2012 and incoming Membership Chair in 2015; Governance Committee member for Sigma Theta Tau Gamma-Pi at large chapter 2014-2015; and Nominating Committee member for Nebraska Nurse Practitioners in 2015.